Biennial Elections to the Council of States to fill the seats of Members retiring April 2020

open view news desk



*Cover your face with masks to prevent transmission of droplets carrying coronavirus
*Exercise social distancing
*Wash your hands frequently
*Sanitize your hands



The term of office of 55 members of the Rajya Sabha elected from 17 States is due to expire on their retirement in April, 2020 as detailed below:        

Sl. No.StateNo. of seatsDate of retirement
 Tamil Nadu6
 West Bengal5
 Andhra Pradesh409.04.2020 
 Himachal Pradesh1
 Madhya Pradesh3

A statement showing the details of the above mentioned vacancies is given in ‘Annexure-A’ (hyperlinked). The Commission has decided that above mentioned biennial elections to the Council of States shall be held in accordance with the following programme: –

 Issue of Notifications06thMarch, 2020 (Friday)
 Last date of making nominations13th March, 2020 (Friday)
 Scrutiny of nominations16thMarch, 2020 (Monday)
 Last date for withdrawal of candidatures18th  March, 2020 (Wednesday)
 Date of Poll26thMarch, 2020  (Thursday)
 Hours of Poll09:00 am to 04:00 pm
 Counting of Votes26thMarch, 2020 (Thursday)at 05:00 pm
 Date before which election shall be completed30th March, 2020 (Monday)

The Commission has directed that for the purpose of marking preference(s) on the ballot paper only integrated violet colour sketch pen(s) of pre-fixed specification, provided by the Returning Officer, shall be used. No other pen shall, under any circumstances, be used in the above said elections.

Adequate measures for close monitoring of the election process by appointing observers shall be taken to ensure free and fair election.    

Feb 25, 2020                     

Leave a Reply