Jammu News

NC expresses concern over reports of deteriorating health of political prisoners

open view news desk

JAMMU: Expressing grave concern over the reports about deteriorating health of several political leaders due to lack of facilities at the places they have been lodged under detention in these harsh and chilly weather conditions in the Valley, senior  National Conference leaders today sought detailed medical bulletin of all the prisoners on daily basis.

In a joint statement, National Conference leaders referred to the reports of heart related problems encountered by NC General Secretary Mr Ali Mohammad Sagar and former MLA Sheikh Jabbar under detention and called for their immediate medical attention and specialised care.

“It is inhuman and cruel to lodge the political prisoners at places san heating, medical and other facilities”, the NC leaders said.

They described continued detention for 114 days of senior leaders as a cause of concern for all those believing in the idea of India and said that the current stalemate is against the high democratic values practised for decades and against the larger national interest.

Nothing is as undemocratic as silencing the sane voice from Jammu and Kashmir in this session of Parliament”, they said while referring to the detention of Dr Farooq Abdullah, a sitting MP, whose health is also a cause of worry.

     “We urge the government to take urgent steps to normalise the situation and allow democratic activity to take place with the release of all mainstream political leaders detained since August 5 including three former chief ministers,” the statement added.

Besides Provincial President Mr Devender Singh Rana, signatories to the joint statement included Mr Ajay Kumar Sadhotra, Mr Surjeet Singh Slathia, Syed Mushtaq Ahmed Shah Bukhari, Mr Abdul Gani Malik, Mr Sajjad Ahmed Kichloo, Mr Rattan Lal Gupta, Th Kashmira Singh,  Th Rachpal Singh,  Sheikh Abdul Rehman, Mr Javed Rana, Mr Vijay Bakaya, Mr Ajaz Jan, Sheikh Bashir Ahmed, Babu Ram Paul, Dr Kamal Arora, Mr Jagjeevan Lal, Qazi Jalal Ud Din, Mr Bushan Lal Bhat, Dr. Chaman Lal, Mr Mohd Aslam Khan, Mr Brij Mohan Sharma, Haji Mohd Hussain, Mrs Bimla Luthra, Master Noor Hussain,  S. Tarlochan Singh Wazir, Mrs Depender Kour, Mrs. Satwant Kour Dogra, Mrs Swaran Lata, S. Gurdeep Singh Sasan, Mrs Vijay Laxmi Dutta, Mr Vipan Pal Sharma, Mr Bashir Ahmed Wani, Mr Anil Dhar Mr Jugal Mahajan, Ch. Haroon, Dr Kamal Arooa, Mr S S Bunty, Mr Pardeep Bali, Ch. Liaquat Ali, Mr Anil Dhar,  Mrs Satwant Kour Dogra, Mrs Dilshad Malik, Mrs Reeta Gupta  Mrs Daljeet Sharma, Mr Abdul Gani Teli, Mr Sajjad Shaheen, Mr Vijay Lochan, Mr Nar Singh, Mr Iftakhar Ahmad Choudhary, Col Rashid Ahmed, Mr Dharamveer Singh Jamwal, Mr Mohinder Gupta, Mr Ajeet Kumar, Th Mohinder Singh, S. Narinder Singh, Ch Arshad, Mr Sunil Verma, Mr Bagh Hussain Rathore, Mr Shaffayat Khan, Dr Shahshad Shan, Mr Tanveer Ahmed Kichloo, Mr G.H Malik , Mr Pyare Lal Sharma, Mr Bhushan Uppal and others.

Nov 29


Leave a Reply