Group of Ministers (GoM) constituted on issues relating to lottery

open view news desk

In pursuance of decision in the 32nd Meeting of GST Council held on 10th January, 2019 at New Delhi, a Group of Ministers (GoM) on issues relating to lottery has been constituted.

The ‘GoM for Lottery’ shall consist of the following:

Sl. No. Name Designation and State
1 Shri Sudhir Mungantiwar Finance Minister, Government of Maharashtra Convener
2 Dr. T.M. Thomas Isaac Finance Minister, Government of Kerala Member
3 Dr. Amit Mitra Finance Minister, Government of West Bengal Member
4 Dr. Himanta Biswa Sarma Finance Minister, Government of Assam Member
5 Shri Mauvin Godinho Minister of Panchayat, Government of Goa Member
6 Shri Manpreet Singh Badal Finance Minister, Government of Punjab Member
7 Shri Krishna Byre Gowda Finance Minister, Government of Karnataka Member
8 Shri Jarkar Gamlin Minister, Taxes and Excise, Government of Arunachal Pradesh Member


The Terms of Reference (ToR) for the GoM for lottery shall be as follows:



*Cover your face with masks to prevent transmission of droplets carrying coronavirus
*Exercise social distancing
*Wash your hands frequently
*Sanitize your hands




  1. Whether the disparity in tax structure on the same product/commodity be continued or a uniform rate be prescribed for both;
  2. Whether private persons authorized by the States are misusing the lower rate and getting enriched themselves at the cost of the State and suggest measures to curb it;
  3. Examine any other issue related to enforcement including the legal frame work, so as to prevent evasion of tax on lottery and suggest appropriate tax rate to address the problem;
  4. The GoM on issues relating to lottery shall be assisted by a Committee of officers from the Centre and the States as convened by the GoM;
  5. Secretary of the GoM on issues relating to lottery shall be Shri Manish Sinha, Joint Secretary (TRU-II), CBIC;
  6. The GoM for lottery shall submit its report to GST Council in next Meeting for consideration of the GST Council

Categories: National

Tagged as:

Leave a Reply