Shri Prahlad Singh Patel announces inclusion of Nepali and Santhali languages in the Scheme for grant of Senior/Junior Fellowships of Culture Ministry

open view news desk

The Union Minister of State for Culture and Tourism, Shri Prahlad Singh Patel hasannounced to include the remaining 02 languages from the 8th  Schedule of the Indian Constitution i.e. Nepali and Santhali in the Sub-Field of Field “Literature” in the scheme component ‘Award of Senior/Junior Fellowships to Outstanding Artistes in the Fields of Culture’. The announcement was made by the Culture Minister during an interaction with media in New Delhi today.

The Ministry of Culture administers a scheme component namely Award of Senior/Junior Fellowships to Outstanding Artistes in the Fields of Culture. The fellowships are awarded for undertaking research oriented projects.

Centre for Cultural Resources and Training (CCRT), Dwarka is the Nodal institute for handling the Scheme of Sr. /Jr. Fellowship till selection process. “Literary Arts” is one of the Fields under this Scheme where candidates can apply for research in 22 languages as their Sub-Field. These 22 languages include the following 20 languages from the 8th Schedule of Articles 344(1) and 251 of the Indian Constitution along with English and Khasi:-

(1) Assamese, (2) Bengali, (3) Bodo, (4) Dogri, (5) Gujarati, (6) Hindi, (7) Kannada, (8) Kashmiri, (9) Konkani, (10) Maithili, (11) Malayalam, (12) Manipuri, (13) Marathi, (14) Oriya, (15) Punjabi, (16) Sanskrit, (17) Sindhi (18) Tamil, (19) Telugu and (20) Urdu.

July 30, 2019


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.