Citizenship on Basis of Religion

open view news desk



*Cover your face with masks to prevent transmission of droplets carrying coronavirus
*Exercise social distancing
*Wash your hands frequently
*Sanitize your hands



“Citizenship” is listed at serial no. 17 in List 1-Union List in the Seventh Schedule of Constitution of India. Concerned stake-holders i.e, Ministry of Law and Justice, Ministry of Overseas Indian Affairs and security agencies were consulted before introducing The Citizenship Amendment Bill, 2016 in Parliament. The Bill was referred to a Joint Committee of the Parliament which consulted various stakeholders including North Eastern States while examining the Bill.

The Bill is not state-specific. It is applicable to all States and Union Territories. The objective of the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill, 2019 is to facilitate acquisition of Indian Citizenship by migrants belonging to the six specified communities i.e. Hindu, Sikh, Buddhist, Jain, Parsi and Christian from Afghanistan, Pakistan and Bangladesh, who have taken shelter in India due to persecution on grounds of religion or fear of such persecution in their countries and have entered into India on or before 31.12.2014.

This was stated by the Minister of State for Home Affairs, Shri Kiren Rijiju in a written reply to question in the Rajya Sabha today.

Categories: Opinion

Tagged as:

Leave a Reply