New Ports under Sagarmala Project

open view news desk

The Minister of State for Road Transport, Shipping and Chemical & Fertilizers Shri Mansukh Mandaviya in a written reply to a question in Rajya Sabha today informed that 14 number of CEZs in 8 states have been identified under the Sagarmala Programme.In the state of Kerala, one CEZ namely “Development of CEZ in Kerala –Malabar” has been identified under the Sagarmala Programme.The project is in concept phase and appraisal/approval of various Governments/agencies is under progress.

The Minister further informed the house that 6 new port locations, namely – Vadhavan (Maharashtra,Enayam (Tamil Nadu), Tajpur (West Bengal), Paradip Outer Harbour (Odisha), Sirkazhi (Tamil Nadu), Belekeri (Karnataka) have been identified and no new port has been included in the Sagarmala projects in Kerala.


The minister also provided the details of funds allocated under Sagarmala scheme to Coastal States/ UT (from FY15-16 to FY18-19). The details are below-

State Number of Projects Sanctioned Funds Sanctioned (Rs. Cr.) Funds Released (Rs. Cr.)
Andhra Pradesh 2 20 5
Gujarat 5 219 145
Karnataka 8 253 133
Kerala 3 19 15
Maharashtra 27 311 140
Odisha 1 10 5
Puducherry 1 44 18
Tamil Nadu 6 180 108
Total 53 1,056 570

Categories: National

Tagged as:

Leave a Reply