Development of Border Villages

open view news desk



*Cover your face with masks to prevent transmission of droplets carrying coronavirus
*Exercise social distancing
*Wash your hands frequently
*Sanitize your hands



Government of India is implementing the Border Area Development Programme (BADP) through the State Governments, in 396 border blocks of 111 border districts in 17 States viz, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand and West Bengal, as a major intervention to meet the developmental needs, and well being of the people living near the international border. The Programme was a 100% centrally sponsored gap filling programme till 2015-16. However, from 2016-17, on the recommendations of the Sub-Group of Chief Ministers, it has been classified as a Core Centrally Sponsored Scheme (CSS) and is now part of the National Development Agenda. The funding pattern of BADP (like other Core CSSs), in respect of 8 North Eastern States (viz. Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim and Tripura) & 3 Himalayan States (viz. Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir and Uttarakhand) is in the ratio 90:10 (Centre Share : State Share) and in respect of 6 other States (viz. Bihar, Gujarat, Punjab, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal) is in the ratio 60:40. The new funding pattern has been implemented from the financial year 2016-17.

Village wise data about amount spent under BADP is not centrally maintained. Village wise physical and financial progress of projects implemented under BADP is monitored by the State Government concerned. However, the details regarding funds released (Central share) to the 17 States during the financial year 2017-18 are as follows:

Sl. No. State Released 2017-18

(Central Share)

1. Arunachal Pradesh 154.14
2. Assam 56.00
3. Bihar 46.00
4. Gujarat 31.73
5. Himachal Pradesh 35.00
6. Jammu.& Kashmir 198.89
7. Manipur 27.56
8. Meghalaya 36.56
9. Mizoram 46.00
10. Nagaland 40.04
11. Punjab 28.00
12. Rajasthan 116.00
13. Sikkim 28.01
14. Tripura 65.07
15. Uttar Pradesh 38.00
16. Uttarakhand 31.00
17. West Bengal 122.00
TOTAL 1100.00

This was stated by the Minister of State for Home Affairs Shri Kiren Rijiju in a written reply to question in the Lok Sabha today.

Categories: National

Tagged as:

Leave a Reply